Her Innocence

Merida sat as still and as straight as a statue on the chair they had tied her to, staring out into the forest, knowing without truly knowing that he would come. The hour of her execution drew nigh, but nothing gave any sign that he was approaching. She didn’t even blink when Dagur approached her yet again as the minutes ticked down.

“Love me, marry me, and I will take you away from all of this,” he whispered.

“I would rather die than marry you,” she boldly replied without even a sideways glance at him.

“Then if he does arrive, I will torture him before I kill the both of you,” he hissed. He walked away, and only then did she let a tear glide down her cheek. For a moment, she hoped that he wouldn’t come, spare him from the pain, but her conviction came back, He was on his way, and he would defeat Dagur. She chanced a glance at Alvin, the big Viking seemed worried for Hiccup’s sake as well. She returned her eyes to the forest as a Viking announced five minutes until they had no choice but to execute her. A soft wind blew through the area, and everyone glanced up to the sky. She smiled, the Black Rider, her warrior, had arrived. The Nightfury glided to the ground, landing directly in front of Merida, and his Rider dismounted before tethering the dragon to the ground.

“What is she being charged with?” he asked with a hint of anger in his voice as he took off his helmet to let the council look at the anger blazing n his eyes.

Alvin cleared his throat, apparently taking a moment to gather the right words to say to the future king of the Vikings, “She has been charged with witchcraft, m-my lord.”

“With what evidence?” The council glanced at each other nervously.

“She put a spell on me that made me fall in love with her, and I don’t want to,” hissed Dagur from where he stood. Hiccup immediately turned on him.

“Did she now? Then why would she put said spell on you?”

Dagur glanced between him and Merida, “I-I don’t know.”

“Of course you don’t know, because she didn’t! The only things she’s ever done was heal me, keep me from teh brink of death. And for that, I owe her my life. If there is no real evidence, I demand her immediate release!”

Dagur laughed cruelly, “No chance of that, little brother.”

“Hiccup!” screamed Merida as Dagur unsheathed his sword. Hiccup whipped out his sword and met Dagur’s onslaught amidst the gasps of the council. Hiccup parried every swipe of Dagur’s blade, Dagur not giving him a chance to go on offensive. The fight took them to the front of the council, near Toothless, and dangerously close to Merida. Hiccup realized Dagur’s game when he cast a threatening glance at Merida, and positioned himself between the innocent girl and the insane Viking.

A malicious grin sent chills down Hiccup’s spine, “I told her that I’d torture you before I killed the both of you, but it looks like I’ll just have to kill both of you. I am so tired of you getting in my way!” He lunged forward, Hiccup sidestepped and knocked him off his feet, his sword landing mere inches from Merida’s feet. The sword didn’t stay down for long as Dagur snatched it up from the ground, and Hiccup tackled him to the ground. They wrestled each other, keeping their swords from making contact with their skin, though the swords were dangerously close to cutting them. Hiccup managed to unarm Dagur, sending his sword clattering to the side, and pointed his sword at Dagur’s throat.

“Surrender, Dagur, I might spare you.”

“Spare me? Ha, I’d rather death than your kindness,” spat out Dagur. He pulled out a dagger and stabbed Hiccup. Merida screamed and Toothless roared as Hiccup stumbled over, his hand clutching the wound. Dagur rose from the ground, cruel insanity ablaze in his eyes as he stole forward, the bloody knife gleaming in the sunlight. He yelled and charged, the knife raised above his head, Hiccup glanced up, a resolved determination in his eyes. Dagur paused a few inches from Hiccup’s head, a fearful realization dawning on him as he glanced down. Hiccup had thrust forward his sword, which was now imbedded in Dagur’s chest. Dagur stumbled back, it was quite clear Dagur was defeated, and very nearly dead.

“The Scot is innocent!” announced Alvin. Hiccup stood up shakily, took the knife from where Dagur had dropped it, and cut Merida loose. “Take him home, m’lady.” Alvin gave a nod to the Black Rider before leading the council out of the arena. Leaning on Merida, Hiccup walked with her back to Toothless, and after a bit of maneuvering, they were off.

Merida had persuaded her father to stay until Hiccup was back on his feet, but the day still came too soon.

“Are you sure about this, Mr. Dunbroch?”

Fergus nodded, “Yes, when you have a child of your own, you’ll understand.”

Hiccup glanced away, “Actually, I think I do understand.” Later he found himself standing at the port, watching Merida and her father supply a boat.

“I hope you have a safe trip,” he stated, using his good arm to shake hands with Fergus. He lifted his casted arm when Merida came forward, “Thanks for putting me back together.”

Merida smiled, “Well, someone had to do, might as well be me, I’ve had loads of experience.”

Hiccup chuckled, “I’ll bet you do.” There was a pause, they shifted their feet, trying to think of something next. It was Merida who broke the awkwardness, she let out a sigh and gave him a hug.

“Thank you, for saving my father, and me,” she whispered into his ear.

“You’re welcome,” he replied, digging his nose into her red curls. They stood there for a minute, squeezing tighter before letting go.

“Well, if you’re ever in the neighborhood, you’ll know where to find us, right?”

“Yeah, I’ll try to hurry it up and heal faster so I can visit you,” he stated, his forehead lowering to meet hers.

“Yeah, you do that, and try not to get hurt before then. I want you to visit us, not come looking for me to take care of you again.”

Hiccup chuckled, “I’ll keep that in mind.”

“Merida, let’s go!” The two glanced at Fergus, he was sitting in the boat, waving his daughter over. She turned back to Hiccup, biting her lip.

“B-but, if, if we never see each other again . . .” she paused, her gaze going straight to his green eyes before pulling him in for a kiss. He pulled back, surprised. Merida let out a sigh and turned to leave when Hiccup pulled her back towards him, and kissed her. They finally let go, Merida only letting go of his hand once she entered the boat, and they were off. Hiccup watched the boat float into the distance, a pair of blue eyes, red curls, and a sweet kiss haunting his mind as she slowly disappeared from his sight. Merida’s own mind refused to release his green eyes, his shaggy brown hair, and the taste of his lips still lingered in her mouth as his still, straight form lingered on the port before the island completely disappeared from view, neither sure if they would ever see each other again.

Leave a Reply

