My Favorite Places

Picking a favorite place is not as easy as it looks
For all of my favorite places have to do with music and books.
I like to lose myself in the magic that music offers to me
With the violins and the trumpets of the symphony
And the drums and the guitars are beckoning
To let the spells take over you as they sing.
Books allow me to go wherever I choose
To let my mind free of this world, to let it loose
There are a couple of places that you can find me
I’m usually in my room, in school, or in the library
Either reading a book, listening to music, or just daydreaming
I guess what I’m trying to say is I like thinking.
So I guess my favorite place is within my mind
Where so many things can happen and you can find
Many treasures and characters so unique in their own way
Though each are common in what they do and say.
I enjoy hanging out with my characters and my friends
And having so much fun that I hope it never ends.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Places

  1. I like your poems because they have meaning
    With rhythm and rhymes suitable for singing.
    There’s a passion that shines through your lines
    Weaving its way through the wrinkles of my mind.
    Today’s technology and mindless creations
    Tends to warp and shrink people’s imaginations.
    I hope you don’t “grow up” in the traditional way,
    Instead, continue to be a kid and learn to fly away.
    Reality is truly overrated with being too formal
    And filled with worry about being “normal”.
    I can hardly wait to see what other poems you write
    As they are the desert to my creative delight!

    1. What do you mean by “I hope you don’t ‘grow up’ in the traditional way”? Peter Pan is one of my favorite stories, I think that’s why I like being with children so much. I’m not giving up my childhood or my wings that easily. And don’t you mean “dessert”? A “desert” has sand dunes, and I thought you knew that being the science teacher. That or you meant my poems are dry (which doesn’t consist with the rest of your poem). 😀

      Also, reality check, there is no such thing as “normal”. Well, at least a world-wide view of normal. Getting braces is normal, especially if you do need them. The world is so twisted nowadays that they don’t know a good story if they saw one.

      P.S. What do you think of the lines I added to the One Ring spell and my Olympian version? Oh, yeah, did you read my lone wolf poem, A Wolf’s Values? Will be posting more soon!

Leave a Reply

