The 12 Days of Christmas: The Fifth Day

\”Silver & Gold\” – Burl Ives

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me: five golden rings.

The number five is presented as a more physical number with what it represents: the five wounds of Christ, the first five books of the Old Testament known as the Torah (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, & Deuteronomy), and the five different kinds of prayer (Love, Thanksgiving, Adoration, Petition, & Expiation/Contrition). There are few fives in the Catholic Faith, but if you look hard enough you’ll find them. This number is rather evasive and rarely used for it does seem to be used more for physicality (five fingers on each hand, five toes on each foot, etc.) than any thing else. The five kinds of prayers can be explained by the fact that we  “leave” our bodies to talk to God.

Oh my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee and I detest all my sins because I dread the loss of Heaven and the pains of Hell. But most of all because I have offended Thee my God, Who art all good and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve with the help of Thy grace to confess my sins, to do penance, and to amend my life. Amen.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s